>

Christmas is for Children; at least that’s what the song says. Then there is a line that says, but aren’t we all children Christmas Day? Walt Disney World is like that also. Everyone is a kid in Disney World; everyone acts silly and everyone is giddy and everyone is happy. I made a comment on one of my articles a while back that even in Disney, teenagers don’t act like teenagers. They are more family oriented, maybe even more accepting of us parents. But one thing that happens when you are in Disney is somewhat of an Unknown Magic. It happens to the kids more than the parents; mainly because we parents cause this magic to happen (sometimes it happens to parents too, though). It is the Unknown Magic of making your kids look silly.

I know this may sound like a horrible thing, but how many times do we as parents give up things for our kids? The extra pork chop at dinner, the better seat at the show, whatever it is, we give for our kids, because we love them. So, making them look silly in a few pictures is only fair, in my book. In Disney World, it is so easy to make someone look silly. You can have kids pose with anything in Disney though and they love it, until they get older and they realize they looked a little silly.

One of my favorite places to get a picture is in Disney Hollywood Studios by the Muppet Theater. Underneath the huge statue of Kermit in a tuxedo, anyone looks tiny and somewhat silly. Another great place in the Studios is at Honey I Shrunk the Kids Playground. You put a kid on a giant ant, and blow that picture up and they look silly.

 A few years back we got our son to stand next to a picture of the Chicken Little promotional poster.

Tell me he doesn’t look a little silly.

Another great thing that makes kids look silly is when they meet a character.

But fair is fair. Here are a few pictures of my wife and I looking silly ourselves:

By far the best silly picture is of my son and me after a great meal at Le Cellier. Our waitress made us purses for our leftovers and made my son a toque (a Canadian winter cap).
So, now you know, Disney World is like Christmas, it changes us all into little kids and we all get to look silly or make our kids look silly and what a Magical Experience that is.